If you are on a gluten free diet, chances are you pretty much already know that certain foods contain gluten in it.
You know, foods like breads, beer, cookies, cakes, etc.
But what about things you’d least expect like soy sauce?
It’s the foods that you’d least expect to have gluten in them to be the most dangerous.
So before you eat out at a restaurant when you are on a gluten free diet, it is very important that you know all the secretly dangerous glutenous foods.
Below is a list of the 5 most dangerously glutenous foods you will encounter at restaurants, unless you come prepared.
The 5 Dangerous Foods of Gluten Free Dining
Here are 5 foods that you need to pay extra attention to:
1. Soy Sauce
Who would’ve thought that soy sauce has gluten in it? But that unfortunately, is the bitter truth. So if you’re eating out at an Asian restaurant, be sure that they use gluten free soy sauce.
2. Special Ice Cream Flavors
Most ice cream is gluten free as long as you stick with original flavors. But when it gets to other flavors like cookies and cream, or cookie dough, it’s a 100% sure bet that these flavors contain gluten in them. So that being said, not all 31 Baskin Robbins flavors are going to be gluten free.
3. Cream of “[insert food here]”
Most cream soups, such as cream of crab or lobster bisque, don’t really contain much cream at all. Instead, starch is used to make the soup creamier. And unfortunately, starch comes from wheat, thus making the cream soups glutenous.
A lot of people don’t know that beer contains gluten in it. But unfortunately it does (in the form of barley). Luckily, there are some gluten free alternatives such as Red Bridge (100% gluten free).
5. Hamburger Meat
Yes hamburger meat. Sometimes, bread crumbs are incorporated into hamburger patties to help them stick together. This is the same way meatballs are also prepared. So it’s best to ask your server about how their burgers are made.
So in conclusion…
Hopefully these 5 gluten free dining tips can help you steer clear of some deceptively glutenous foods.
Thanks for reading and be safe!
Also be sure to check out the original gluten free eating out guide.
Here’s one that got me, Blue Diamond Wasabi and Soy Sauce Almonds. I knew soy sauce can have gluten but I never thought to check these almonds until I was half way through them.
Wow, that’s very surprising Ron. But thanks so much for the future heads up!
Also Red Vines licorice, was once a family favorite at the movies now fruit snacks are our choice. Who would’ve thought about licorice? Read labels, read, read ,read 🙂
Smarties! M & M’s are fine, Smarties are NOT. Learned the hard way 🙁
Mary F Breckeen
According to their website: “All Smarties® products are gluten-free and safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease. Furthermore, Smarties® products are manufactured in facilities that produce exclusively gluten-free candies.
Also – Cesar’s or Bloody Mary’s. Likely contain Worcester sauce – which contains wheat.