Here is the complete Starbucks gluten free menu.
Starbucks is generally considered a safe place to go for a drink if you’re looking for gluten-free options. Current drink options include most basic hot and cold coffees, espresso, chai, teas, and Frappuccinos. Food options are pretty limited to only egg bites, all of which are gluten free.
Starbucks Gluten Free Menu
Here is everything that doesn’t contain gluten at Starbucks:
Coffee and Espresso
- Caffè Latte
- Caffè Mocca
- Starbucks Reserve Dark Chocolate Mocha
- White Chocolate Mocha
- Caffè Americano
- Espresso Macchiato
- Espresso Con Panna
- Hazelnut Macchiato
- Iced Coffee
- Pike Place Roast (medium or dark)
- Decaf Pike Place Roast
- Veranda Blend
- Flat White
- Starbucks Cold Brew Coffee
- Vanilla Sweet Creme Cold Brew
- Nitro Cold Brew
- Vanilla Sweet Cream Nitro Cold Brew
Iced Shaken Espresso
- Iced Shaken Espresso
- Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso
Syrups and Sauces
Warning: Be careful with Starbucks syrups. Ingredients are constantly changing and they vary from store to store. So just to be safe, avoid any syrups or sauces if you’re highly sensitive to gluten.
- white mocha
- pumpkin spice
- brown sugar
- cinnamon dolce
- Iced Black Tea
- Iced Black Tea Lemonade
- Iced Royal English Breakfast Tea Latte
- Iced London Fog Tea Latte
- English Breakfast
- Earl Grey
- Chai Tea Latte
- Jasmine Orange
- Spearmint Green
- Mint Blend
- Vanilla Rooibos
- Chamomile Blend
- Matcha Tea Latte
- Emperor’s Clouds Mist
- Honey Citrus Mint Tea
- Jade Citrus Mint Tea
- Mint Majesty
- Peach Tranquility
Chocolate and Other Options
- Hot Chocolate
- White Hot Chocolate
Frappuccino Blended Beverage
There is a high risk of cross-contamination because blenders are not washed thoroughly between drinks.
- Coffee Frappuccino
- White Chocolate Mocha
- Fruit Frappuccino
- Mango and Passionfruit
- Raspberry and Berries
- Pumpkin Spice
- Match Creme
- Chai Creme
- Strawberry Creme
- Pumpkin Spice Creme
- Vanilla Bean Creme
- White Chocolate Creme
- Pink Drink
- Dragon Drink
- Mango Dragonfruit
- Mango Dragonfruit Lemonade
- Paradise Drink
- Strawberry Acai
- Strawberry Acai Lemonade
- Pineapple Passionfruit
- Pineapple Passionfruit Lemonade
- Berry Hibiscus
- Blended Strawberry Lemonade
- Starbucks Baya Energy Mango Guava
- Starbucks Baya Energy Raspberry Lime
- vanilla sweet cream
- vanilla sweet cream cold foam
- Kale and Mushroom Egg Bites
- Bacon and Gruyere Egg Bites
- Egg White and Roasted Pepper Egg Bites
If this Starbucks gluten free menu was helpful or inaccurate, please let us know by leaving a comment below. Thank you!
Discover More Gluten Free Menus!
And for a listing of over 250+ gluten free restaurant menus, check out our brand new GF Restaurants + Dining Guide!
Well that’s it! I hope you found this Starbucks gluten free menu to be very helpful.
Be sure to check out our awesome listing of gluten free coffee shops.
Plus, learn how to get a free drinks and refills at Starbucks using this cool hack.
The Marshmallow Dream Bars aren’t gluten free. Rice Krispies contain barley malt unless you buy the gluten free version. Double Chocolate Chip isn’t gluten free – their chips contain wheat.
Thanks Nancy for the corrections. It’s glad to know that someone is helping me keep this site as accurate as possible. Thanks once again!
Is the mocha frapp with milk gluten free?
Hi Cindy! The mocha frappe is gluten free. The only negative things about frapps is the risk of cross contamination since many of the glutenous frapps are made in the same container. However, if you request a clean blender, you should be safe. Hopefully this helps 🙂
It helps a lot Adam, thank you so much, so thoughtful of you!!!
I haven’t had one since going gf over a year ago, think I’ll pick one up tomorrow : )
Rice Krispies as far as I know are actually gluten free. One of my friends called the manufacturer and they said that they are. She and I both eat Rice Krispies with no reaction. I wouldn’t eat the dream bar because of cross contamination but now at my Starbucks they are packaged seperately and kept seperately so they are now safe to eat as far as my local Starbucks
I work at starbucks and the ingredient list on the rice crispy treats clearly state barley. Not gluten free, plus the pastry case would be a cross-contamination nightmare. Definitely not gluten free, but 2 of the new bars are certified gf!
Individuals with celiac sprue neef to avoid barley, rye, oats, whea, BROW for short. Modified food starch is to be avoid also, since you cannot tell whether the source is gluten free. Please, read labels and have restaurants clean the grill, skillet, and etc everytime. Even if you feel on tge spot, make sure you are an advocate for your health. My Daughter currently was diagnosed, my Dad had it also, and I have serum sickness that is another immuno-hypersensitivity disorder (not allergies). It is important to mention the difference with medical professionals. I am a RD, thank God I have the tools to help those with these conditions.
I am at my desk eating what I thought was a gluten free greek yogurt parfait. However, it states it contains barley malt syrup.
Actually the vanilla bean powder IS GLUTEN FREE!! I checked the packaging myself and have been enjoying vanilla frapps
I was in my local Starbucks yesterday and thankfully had not read your post. Their mocha blend may contain wheat!
I HATE seeing individuals say that the mocha IS gluten free and the chips aren’t. It’s quite the opposite actually. I work at starbucks and the mocha MAY contain gluten AND wheat. The chips don’t say that, they state that they’re just possessed in a facility that handles gluten. It just bothers me because (practically) my whole family is celiac, me included, and we suffer GREATLY when we end up with even a little gluten. It’s not safe to tell
People that they can have it.
Processed* not possessed lol
All of the prepackaged frappes contain gluten. It is hidden as dextrin and is labeled that it may contain gluten.
The mashmallow dream bars are now gluten free. It states it on the package. Pair it with your latte for an extra supercharged sugar boost.
What about the chai teas??? Says nothing thing about that drink???
They’re completely gluten free.
Actually they are certified gluten free , they use brown rice and it states gluten free on the package
Starbucks uses Eden organic soy milk, so if ordering something soy you need to ask which version they are using. The unsweetened does not contain gluten, but the original does!!
Thanks Jade for the info! I’m going to go ahead and clarify that on the post. Once again, thanks!
soy is evil anyway 😛
Yes, indeed but many people don’t know it and some are convinced it’s “healthy” milk. Too much soy in time will, definitely, affect your thyroid gland. I, prefer coconut milk and ask for almond milk when there’s no coconut milk.
We use vanilla soy milk at Starbucks. We dont have any other kind of soymilk but that, and it is not gluten free
Interesting piece. I had a Starbucks Hot Chocolate today in the UK and must tell you I was really quite ill afterwards. I was diagnosed as a Celiac last summer and although there have been improvements as a result of diet changes, exposure to gluten in any form tends to have spectacular reactions.
The reason I know it was hot choc is that I had not taken anything this morning and was ill within 30 minutes of taking it.
That’s pretty interesting Lawrence. According to the U.S. Starbucks, their hot chocolate is gluten free. So my guess is that there may have been some cross contamination on Starbucks part which resulted in your illness. I’ll be sure to do some more research regarding the hot chocolate and let you know what I find. Thanks for sharing your experiences though!
Starbucks hot chocolate is processed in plants that also process soy, dairy, peanuts AND wheat. Their hot chocolate is definitely not gf. Check the ingredients labels on the hot chocolate mix ingredients panel.
Will do Linda
I actually had a rash on my leg all through the holiday. Turns out, the hot chocolate from Starbucks. My son pointed out that it is NOT gluten free. DAMN!
Starbucks mocha syrup is NOT gluten free. Hence why everyone is reacting badly. The syrup states on the package (which I know you guys can’t see but the barista should know) that it says ‘May contain gluten and wheat’.
I take it back on the java chips. I just checked the package during my break and it contains ‘cookie crumbles’ they just didn’t label it as ‘containing’. How misleading!
I wonder if it also just has to do with the type of Chocolate used since American Chocolate is so different the English Chocolate. Maybe it’s something in the contents of the chocolate itself?
It could have been cross contamination, as a celiac I know how overly sensitive am to the smallest amount of gluten.
I actually know that usually most chocolates in the UK contain gluten as opposed to in the US where most chocolate is gluten free. I’m not really sure how that could be connected to your Starbucks drink but maybe it might have to so with the supplier of their chocolate or something along those lines.
That’s because they use syrup in it and the syrups have cross contamination with wheat. They don’t mention that at Starbucks. So people drink the drinks with syrup and don’t realize they are ingesting some wheat. Those that don’t have celiac have no clue because they don’t have a reaction. Only those with celiac will since there is no such thing as gluten intolerance or gluten sensitive. Research doesn’t back either if those. But doctors just tell people they do because it’s easier to just say that and get people out of their office. Gluten free is a fad and it makes it worse for those that have celiac because it causes false information to be spread. Research everything from reputable sites.
Not all the Tazo teas are gluten free. I’ve seen on several websites that the following are not gluten free: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger, and Tea Lemonade. The rest of the teas are, but there’s always the cross-contamination risk.
Thanks Tracy for the information about the teas. I’ll be sure to specify the non-gluten free versions in the post. Thanks!
You should be okay with teas. Those Tazo teas are all hot teas and will have no way of cross contaminating you. They aren’t used with tongs but gloves that are replaced and we don’t use a shaker just your cup.
Apparently all of Starbucks’ “light” or “skinny” syrups have gluten in them, as do any of the chips (java chip, mocha chip, etc) & some of the sprinkles they put on drinks. I’ve also heard that the Cinnamon Dolce syrup is not gluten free either.
Thanks for the feedback Lindsay! I’m going to be sure to include all these tips and info you provided and include them in the post. I appreciate your insight. It’s been very helpful!
The light frappuccino bases, skinny syrups, java chips (there’s no such thing as mocha chips), the cinnamon dolce syrup are l gluten free, tea lemonade.
I work at Starbucks and have double checked these all today.
The only drink ingredients that contain gluten are the vanilla bean powder, and the caramel sauce is questionable because of the amount of caramel color in it.
And obviously, the mocha a cookie crumble topping wouldn’t be safe either as it is made of cookies.
Thanks for the extra information Lindsey, you have been very helpful!
I have seen the label for the Java Chips – they contain cookie crumbs and so they are not gluten free.
I just want to make sure I have this right. The cinnamon dolce syrup IS Gluten Free then? I only order a cinnamon dolce latte or a caramel frappucino. I’m new to this gf eating and trying to research my favorite places. I hope I can continue to have these drinks at Starbucks! From reading this blog I believe both are considered gluten free? (fingers crossed that they are!)
Hey Cathy, yes it is!
I work at Starbucks and the java chip things are not gluten free.. I have checked.
I had to ask the barista to get me the bag…. They are gluten free! The double chocolate chip is safe!
The choc chip should be but the Java chip are not GF.
Does anyone know if regular caramel syrup used in iced coffee is gluten free ?
Sent by email in 12/10 from Starbucks Customer Relations: “The only syrup with gluten is Light Coffee Frappuccino Syrup. Java chips do contain wheat. Caramel Sauce, Caramel Brulee Sauce and Caramel Brulee Topping all contain corn syrup. There is always a chance of cross contamination, we can’t guarantee anything being gluten- or corn-free.”
Thanks for the input Olivia! It is extremely helpful and informative.
After finding out that Starbucks’ chocolate chips contained gluten (WHY they use them is beyond me), I decided Starbucks truly doesn’t care what’s in their products. It took several emails for them to divulge even this little information, and then only on the phone – not written. If you want plain coffee or tea, I think it’s fine, but for anything prepared – especially during a busy time and for anyone with Celiac or a strong sensitivity – I’d recommend staying away.
While we understand that some customers may have a need to know specific ingredient information prior to consuming a product, we are unable to provide more in-depth information than what is currently available in the ingredient statement. Spice and flavor information is proprietary to our formulations, and the ingredient statement meets FDA guidelines for disclosing major allergens. If there are concerns about this product possibly containing or having been exposed to an ingredient that you do not wish to consume, we would recommend that product not be consumed.”
I agree Angie, during the peak times at Starbucks, the peak times at Starbucks can be a little risky since there’s a higher chance of cross contamination.
Hey I have a question. I was just diagnosed w/ being allergic to gluten and wheat
so my question is
statbux chia tea lattes r they gluten free
plus where do u go to do the research
Chai is fine! Ask a barista, ask to see ingredient list, preferably when it’s not busy.
Does anyone know if the white chocolate syrup is gluten free? I’ve heard both but no one seems to be convinced either way.
I had one today and ended up sick. As I’m new to this it could have been cross contamination, but I’ve been very careful and know that’s the only thing I didn’t prep myself today. I supposedly don’t have celiacs, but I do have crohns and gluten can cause reaction very similar to celiacs. I’m getting retested for celiacs in a month to be sure, but for the next two weeks it’s strict GF for me and my white chocolate mocha evidently was not.
You have to eat gluten in order for the blood test to work. When they take your blood they are looking for certain antibodies and these antibodies are a reaction to being exposed to gluten. Therefore, no gluten – no antibodies. The doctors should know this very simple fact, but this is how UNEDUCATED they are about celiac. Before telling you to take the test they should tell you NOT to be on a g-free diet and then before giving you the test -they should ask whether your on a g-free diet. This shoud be as standard as asking if you fast before certain blood tests.
Hi Adam, I thin it it awesome the amount of work you have put into providing people with all of this information. The hardest part about being told I was gluten intolerant was knowing I would not be able to eat out as often as I had. With this information it seems doable!
I have gone into a Starbucks and asked if the Very Berry Hibiscus Refresher is gluten free or not and have not been able to get an answer. Do you or anyone else know if it in fact gluten free or not?
Thank you again!
Hey Mindy, thank you so much! It’s always great to know that I’ve helped make eating out gluten free just a little pit easier and quite frankly, possible. I don’t know if the Berry Hibiscus Refresher is gluten free or not, but I’m sure someone reading this comment may know the answer. (To tell you the truth, I’ve actually never heard about this drink :p) But once again, thanks for the kind words and support Mindy! It truly means so much to me.
I have a reaction everytime I order the Berry Hibiscus Refresher, even though I’ve been told it does not have any gluten ingredients. I do not get the same reaction from the Lime Refreshers.
Hey Ellen! I work at Starbucks’s and am also celiac and oddly enough, I get the SAME reaction every time! I have checked the packaging and unless it’s a hidden ingredient then I can’t find it myself either.
I’d be very careful. Every other source I read states that any drinks actually prepared at the counter are at risk of cross contamination. Sounds like it would be safer to stick to gluten free bottled drinks only.. Very sad
Here’s what the Starbucks site says about allergies:
Where can I find allergen information?
Published 09/05/2012 12:20 PM | Updated 09/05/2012 12:20 PM
Allergen information is not available online for our beverage selections at this time. If you have an allergen concern, please feel free to ask our baristas to check the ingredient labels. We cannot guarantee that any of our beverages are allergen free because we use shared equipment and handle allergens throughout the store.
Under blended drinks it list java chips but written above the list it says they are not gluten free?
Now I understand why I have been getting sick from the Chai Soy Latte’s. Starbucks used to use Silk Vanilla Soy, which was gluten free, I didn’t know they had switched to another brand. I have been getting terribly sick after drinking them and didn’t know why. Thanks for the information.
Sorry to hear about your sick trips to Starbucks Sharon, but I’m glad this list will help you have a great trip to Starbucks from now on.
Sharon, maybe you can buy the prepared Tazo chai tea concentrate and mix it with Silk gluten free soy milk at home. The concentrate is sold in Starbucks, but I have also seen it at grocery store and Target Starbuck’s locations.
I just purchased the Greek Yogurt Parfait after reading this thinking it was safe. After taking a bite and realizing the granola is not just granola, I read the ingredients contains barley malt syrup (malt/wheat and barley are gluten). YIKES!!!
Now bracing myself for the inevitable celiac response :\
Noooooo…I should’ve made it clear to avoid the granola for the parfait. That one was on me! Sorry Rebecca.
The product doesn’t say ‘gluten free’ ANYWHERE on it. Hence why when i first looked at it I checkwd the ingredients and immediately dumped the granola. You really can’t be too trusting with some of the information online.
Now it all makes sense. My choice of drink at Starbucks for years was soy chai latte. I never had a reaction. I hadn’t realized that they changed from Silk Soy to another brand. Over the last year, I couldn’t figure out what the problem was. Thank you for letting me know that it’s because of the soy they are using now, and I’m not going crazy.
Hey no problem, Sharon. I’m glad that you’re not going crazy too
I drink a venti mocha latte low fat no whip with two pumps of cinnamon dolce syrup. Can you tell me if it has gluten in it please? Thank you for the response.
According to Starbucks, the cinnamon dolce syrup is gluten free, but there has been a few instances of people getting a little sick from it. So really it’s up to you to take the risk and see for yourself, Montaz. I would also check with your barista the next time you’re at Starbucks just to double check though.
Thank you for your help. And I appreciate the detail work, And you made my life some what more informative. Never to much information on ones health. I resonantly been diagnosed so this has been greatly helpful. Montaz
I’m always here to help Montaz. That’s why I’m here, to help make your gluten free diets, just a little more manageable. I appreciate the support!
After reading all this I realised that the drink I just ordered might make me sick. Sure enough, half an hour or so after drinking some of my caramel soy frapp, I’m not feeling well at all which is a shame.since I love the frapps. I was diagnosed a little over a year ago and adjusting has been a struggle. I read the syrup ingredients but never even thought about the soy having gluten or the chances of css.contamination being high, aparantly its risky. Definitely learned my lesson! Thank you for all of the information and for everyone’s
Hi Adam, thank you for putting this site together! You have done an amazing job and this is a great central location to look at the various places to eat when you are sick of the same places. I will say that Starbucks has been one of the worst companies I have dealt with to find out what is gluten free and they haven’t made much effort in that respect. It should be easy enough for them to make a list of what is gluten free at this point. Thanks again for putting this together!
On May 16, 2013
How can there Ginger Green Tea have Gluten in it.
I just wanted to put out there that you say in the beginning of this that the vanilla bean powder has gluten in it, but then on the menu it has both the vanilla bean frappucino, and the caffe vanilla frappucino (just the coffee based version of vanilla bean)
If the vanilla bean is in fact not gluten free, shouldn’t those be taken off the menu?
Just an fyi here, I am a barista at Starbucks and not currently on a gluten free diet (though I am considering it) :j
So a nonfat latte is gluten free? Thanks for your help!
Thank you for this blog! I grabbed a frapp light today at Starbucks and had a terrible reaction from it! I personally red the ingredients on the “light” base since I knew before they weren’t g free. I’m not perfect but nothing caught my eye to being gluten. Had no clue the soy milk (which of course I ordered in the frapp) could have done it! Will be calling there tomorrow to see if they used flavored vanilla! Thank you all for the help!
My guess would be that it’s because you got a Frappuccino as well. All blended drinks are made in the same blenders, whether or not they contain gluten. Cross contamination is definitely a factor with Frappuccinos!
Thanks so much for this website. I got a job at a Starbucks and thought I was safe after reading the ingredients of everything but apparently not. The Soy Vanilla Lattes have given me quite the reaction. I’m so upset.
No more soy or flavored drinks for me, I suppose.
I am a Starbucks barista and just began a gluten free diet to see if I have allergies. I can’t speak for all stores, but as for mine, the chance of cross contamination in hot/iced espresso/coffee drinks is very low because the only thing we steam is milk and all syrups go into the individual cup. However, blended drinks are a different story because we do use the same pitchers to blend all drinks, including the ones that include gluten like the Vanilla Bean and Cafe Vanilla Frappuccinos. If you have a severe allergy to gluten, it’s definitely better to stay away from Frappuccinos. Otherwise, all powders have their own spoons, all syrups have their own pumps, so it should be OK. I’d definitely be more worried about someone with allergies to dairy than I would gluten when it comes to cross-contamination!
Very interesting to read the soy milk has gluten. I have been getting horrible stomach aches after drinking my green tea soy lattes. Thought it was the soy itself. Do all the stores (Canada included) use the soy milk with gluten?
If the soy milk contains gluten, then there would be some cross-contamination in the steaming wand. I am also a Starbuck’s barista, and I would recommend sticking to iced lattes rather than hot to best avoid cross-contamination. I agree with Morgan to stay away from blended drinks. I wonder about the refreshers, though? The shakers used for all refreshers, teas and lemonades are only rinsed between uses.
I have just started gf and I love my sugar free hazelnut skinny latte can I still have it? My people at star bucks here have no clue
What about the blended creme drinks? I’m not sure if I’m just allergic to wheat and not gluten, but I’ve never had a reaction to the Double Chocolaty Chip Creme (not a coffee drinker) in the two times that I’ve had it since going wheat/ gluten free.
Green coffee reviews
What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled
upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid other users like its aided me. Good job.
Thanks so much! You have been a big help.
Umm… I work at Starbucks and many items on this list don’t exist at Starbucks. There is no coconut anything, I’ve never heard of a caramel brulee, and those tazo teas that aren’t gluten free aren’t at corporate Starbucks company stores. Also A source on google said that the chips have gluten in it, but I’ll have to check on that. I’ve also had Vanilla bean and have had no reaction to said gluten in it, but I’ll check on that too and get back to this list. We also rotate our brewed coffees. I’ve tasted many of the coffees and felt fine after and I’m very sensitive to gluten being that I have CD. We just roast beans in Latin America, China, Arabia, And Africa. We dry, then roast them, and then they are sampled before being shipped out. The beans to my knowledge are not flavored with anything.
You’re right about the teas- I work at Starbucks too and thought the same thing. I’m not sure if it’s where you live or when you started but Caramel Brulee is a seasonal holiday drink and has been for I think 2 years. Also, coconut was a flavor last summer and summers before that (I don’t know when it started but it was before me, so it’s been around more than 2 years) but they didn’t bring it back this year. Of course all of this is relative because Starbucks in different states/countries have different things. And you’re also right about the beans not being flavored with anything.
The caramel brulee latte was a holiday drink. There was a mocha coconut frappuccino last summer.
I have Celiac and was recently diagnosed. I want to know if the ingredients in the Cotton Candy Frappuccino are gluten free. Here they are:
vanilla bean frap
1 pump of raspberry syrup (for a tall)
I don’t know off hand Hailey, but I’ll definitely look into it. My guess would be no, but with Starbucks, you just sometimes never know
The Cotton Candy Beverage is NOT on our menu so those who order it do not say can I have a cotton candy Frap? We are not trained to know what that is. It also tastes NOTHING like cotton candy in my opinion. if you want to try one ask for it like this. First say your desired size, then 1-3 pumps of raspberry (then milk choice if you’re drinking soy) vanilla bean Frappuccino. It also comes with whipped cream unless you ask otherwise. Also you are right the vanilla bean powder has no known trace of gluten, so to those who think it does it only has sugar, vanilla bean pieces, and natural and artificial flavors. To clear a few other things up the java chips DEFINITELY have gluten. The soy however does not have any that I know of. In fact here is an exact ingredient list for the soy:
organic soy milk (filtered water, whole organic soy beans), evaporated cane juice, calcium carbonate, natural vanilla flavor with other natural flavors, sea salt, carrageenan, sodium citrate, sodium bicarbonate, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, riboflavin (B2), Vitamin B12.
I looked for anything else I could get on the soy Starbucks made but I haven’t found anything. However according to this link http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreefoodshoppin1/a/FDA-Gluten-Free-Food-Label-Rules.htm manufacturers are required to label foods that contain the 8 common allergens. I myself have never reacted badly to the soy milk at work. Also you should all know that according to bodyecology.com articles coffee is not the best thing for those with gluten problems. They are finding that like gluten, it can cause similar reactions to the gut. This may be why you all may not feel too great after drinking coffee. I don’t know about all the syrups containing gluten Kristin. I have CD and have awful symptoms and have never reacted to syrups. The Sugar free stuff has maltodextrin, which sometimes is derived from gluten grains, but that’s about it. Also there is vanilla syrup in our whipped cream, so if you want to still avoid syrup, don’t have whipped cream. The chocolate mocha is vegan btw, the white mocha though has milk for those who are milk sensitive. I’ve also has the orange refresher and I felt fine after and the classic syrup in the iced coffee is essentially sugar water with preservatives like dextrose. Keep in mind all that coffee and oranges are acidic so it’s not the best thing for the stomach to begin with.
On a last note here is a site that lists what ingredients are what. http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php
Hi everyone. I work at Starbucks and the only things I can verify as truly gluten free are the Kind bars and the Two Moms bars. All of the syrups contain gluten, so always make sure to ask for anything unsweetened. Safest is to go with a latte or any drink that is pretty basic. Also, yogurt parfaits have granola, so I wouldn’t trust that there is no gluten. Some of the ingredients have been said by others not to contain wheat, but that does not rule out gluten.
So the caramel syrup does have gluten ? That explains belly a lot:(
I had an orange refresher today…tasted great, but within an hour I was sick! I wish Starbucks would list allergen info on line! Does the sweetener used in their iced coffee contains gluten? Thanks in advance for the information.
Here’s an excellent article about GF dining at Starbucks. http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/eatinginrestaurants/f/Starbucks-Gluten-Free.htm
Basically, it says “The bottom line: plain coffee or espresso-milk drinks may be okay, but blended and flavored drinks are extremely risky.”
I used to work at Starbucks and, unless otherwise specified, the cafe vanilla frap is made with vanilla bean powder. It’s my favourite and I recently learned I’m gluten intolerant 🙁
I love the vanilla bean frapachino and have still been able to drink it even though i am gluten intolerate. Does anyone know if it is gluten free?
I called last week and they said the ingredients in the vanilla bean powder were vanilla bean pieces, natural and artificial flavors. No wheat was listed in the ingredients.
How about the pumpkin spice latte? I usually order it with skim milk.
To be honest KC, I’m totally unsure if it’s gluten free or not. I’ll be sure to ask them and let you know asap
I love the pumpkin spice latte and it just came back. I called the 1-800 number and they couldn’t tell me that it was gluten free because it says other spices and they said they had know idea what those were. So if you find out please do share. (-: Thank you!
I’m going there tomorrow to find out. I’ll keep you posted Amanda!
Appears that only coffee or espresso are safe to drink. All java chip and chocolatey drinks are a big no no, light or sugar free are either corn or wheat based, and no to protein powders.
I just recently had a java chip frappuccino thinking it’s okay. Reacted right away and didn’t know why until I did a little research. Unsweetened ice coffee it is!
Yikes. But yeah I’m right there with you on the iced coffee- with a couple packs of sugar though! #sweettoothedfoodie
Came here because I just had the new orange spice iced coffee and had a reaction about 1/2 hr after drinking it. I knew about the java chips but not about the soy milk or vanilla powder. I wonder if there was cross-contamination somehow? Anyway, reading this thread lets me know that I need to be more careful at Starbucks. Thank you!
I’m sorry to hear about your reaction Johanna 🙁 but thanks for stopping by. We are always here to help 🙂
The soy milk contains gluten? so frapes are out and so would be the pumpkin spice latte and chai tea. Can Starbucks make these drinks without milk? I have just been diagnosed with CD and lactose intolerance. Any web sites or advise would be greatly appreciated.
I just talked with Tazo & Starbucks customer service who confirmed that the Chai Tea Concentrate IS gluten free!
Woohoo! Thanks for letting us know Kat!
the fraps are gluten free
Do you know if the pumpkin spice latte has gluten?
Can anyone tell me if the regular café mochas are gluten free?
Im a celiac also a store manager of a starbucks, best advice I can give all is ask to see lables and decided if you want to chance it. Most products will have a warning on label that it is shared on equipment that contains wheat etc.. everyone has different levels of sensitivity. As I was reading all above comments I became more confussed at what is correct and what is not. Ex the smoothies on this list are said to be gluten free, in my opinion that has to be inncorect on the label it says protein powder is shared with equipment that may contain wheat, So i skip protein. the only confirmed way is to call Starbucks corp. 9 times out of ten most companies say there is a risk of contamination, so its up to consumer if they want to try or not. I appreciate everyones impute and it helps sometimes. wonder if corporate can get a better list together, maybe if we all tried to call and suggest an correct offical list they might listen. 🙂
vanilla bean fraps with caramel drizzle and whipped cream are also gluten free and they are AMAZING!!
are cotton candy fraps gluten free?
Unfortunately, they are not Lily
I am a Starbucks fan and drink there all the time. Because they claim it is GF, and because it is my favorite, after I got sick from the salted hot chocolate, I thought maybe it was just cross contamination and tried again at a different starbucks. I told the barista I had a gluten issue and she cleaned all of the stuff. I got very very sick that time. I still have caramel frappacinos, caramel machiato, and berry hibiscus all the time with no issues – but both times it was definitely the hot chocolate – drink with caution
Read Wheat Belly, the book, you will find all your answers to why gluten (wheat) is in everything when it doesn’t need to be. It’s scary finding out the truth so if u are faint at heart don’t read it.
This just disgusts me how much gluten is in all of Starbucks dishes. Who would ever think to look in syrups, wheat, etc. It makes you so scared to eat anything ANYWHERE when a company as popular as Starbucks cannot get better products.
I always thought of Starbucks as a progressive company, but I am honestly insulted by Starbucks total lack of interest in making any effort to provide gluten-free products. As you can see from the chain of comments above, even things that should be gluten-free have gluten at Starbucks. The straw that broke the camel’s back for me was today when I went in and was looking for a KIND bar. Because these are pre-packaged and gluten-free, they were one of the few things to eat at Starbucks without risk of cross contamination. I was told that they no longer carry KIND bars but now have another similar product. In reading the packaging, it says traces of WHEAT. Really Starbucks? Really?
When your post says frappacino does that include lattes? I use to drink the peppermint mocha lattes, are they gf? Asked to see the soy milk at a Starbucks and the lady let me look at the container it said Organic Soymilk. The lady told me it was Starbucks brand of soymilk. So Is Starbucks brand of soy milk gf?
I can’t find a solid answer about the whip cream they use on drinks being gluten-free or not. I’ve had 2 pumpkin spice lattes this week with whip cream. The drink alone doesn’t bother me but I’ve been experiencing terrible brain fog and pain this week. I’m gluten intolerant and avoid gluten at all costs so I know the only thing different I’ve consumed this week was that whip cream on the top.
So, can anyone help me determine whether or not the whip cream has gluten?
Thanks in advance! 🙂
Nikki, it could be the combination of spices in the pumpkin spice mix. I have the same problem with the chai tea lattes and learned that the histamines from certain spice combinations can react in gluten sensitive people. Since the chai lattes don’t make me sick, but sometimes, and only sometimes, give me brain fog, I have learned that it is a chance I take. Perhaps the same is the spice mixture in the pumpkin spice lattes. Since they are seasonal, Starbucks may have “tinkered” with the spice ratios.
In my opinion I believe that the whipped cream is gluten free. But I’ll double check for you!
Hi I’m trying to narrow down my gluten reaction today. I’ve only been gluten free for 11 days but had an Earl Grey soy latte with 2 shots of espresso and hazelnut syrup. Do any of these ingredients contain gluten? I got a terrible headache and nauseated shortly after I had it. Thank you!
Trying to see if peppermint white chocolate mocha is gluten-free. Trying to read through comments. Can you help!?
I can tell you I had a peppermint mocha today and my stomach is sounding like torpedoes, a sound And feeling I haven’t experienced for a very long time. I’d wager it has gluten in it.
Please don’t listen to this menu!!! I have contacted starbuck’s several times, and it is not very safe for people with Celiac Disease to drink/eat at. There are only a couple of items that are actually gluten free. Most of the things on this menu are not gluten free! For example, they specifically told me the chips they use in the java chip Frappuccinos contain gluten. They also told me that ALL frappuccinos contain gluten due to the base they use for them. They also said they have cross contamination at Starbucks! Please talk to Starbucks rather than looking at this menu!
Hello Adam! I have been using your list like crazy and it’s really helped in what to choose. Thank you for posting. I don’t have celiac nor do I have a gluten allergy but my doctor feels I’m intolerant. I don’t have issues with cross-contamination or using the same cups to make drinks. I do want to try the Vanilla Blonde that came out, but I’m getting mixed signals about the vanilla syrup. I have the whipped cream with no issues. Drinks I’ve enjoyed include mocha, mocha frapp, PSL, salted caramel, and teas. Thoughts, advice on trying it?
Thanks so much for these lists! Very helpful! Quick question….are the sugar free (skinny) versions of the frappes above still GF? for Example….a coffee frappe with sugar free hazelnut or sugar free peppermint and mocha? Thanks!
I am new to GF world and really dont want to give up my Skinny Caramel Macchito’s or skinny vanilla latte’s are those safe?
Thank you so much for this!
Hi guys I have CD had the very berry hibiscus and marshmallow dream bar( separately packaged and stated gluten free), and got sick. Not my normal knife stomach pain but woke up terribly tired with dark circles under my eyes and immense brain fog. The dream bar contained rice crispies that did not state if they were gluten free or not :/ and I should have been smarter ! I just get soooo excited when I see gf on a label 🙁 in conclusion I don’t know if it was the drink or the bar but stay away from both and I believe I will do my best to actually avoid starbucks all together, I mean what’s more important your health or a cup of coffee and a snack?
They only have 14 GF drinks..this author is sorely mistaken and should take this article down before they make somebody sick. The Starbucks corp will not tell you which ones are.
I’m a celiac, and I love nonfat pumpkin spice lattes (no whip, nonfat milk). Unfortunately, I have been having serious side effects since I started drinking them last week. So NO, they are absolutely NOT gluten-free.
There’s a lot of debate about skinny lattes; All of the skinny syrups make me ill as well.
Caramel macchiatos = gluten-free. So that’s my go-to drink, hot or iced.
Our regional Starbucks also have gluten-free lemon teacakes, separately packaged, that are terrific.
Too many conflicting information about Starbucks. Celiacs cannot play their guessing game or your Blog. I only order a brewed coffee if I need a caffeine fix at Starbucks!
Just wondering if the skinny versions of drinks are gluten free? I’m reading a lot of mixed reviews about the “skinny” syrups they use could contain gluten – I’m not an overally sensitive celiac – Just wanted to be careful before I indulge myself.
What about the vanilla or hazlenut lattes?
are the syrups gluten free? hazelnut and caramel? even the one they put on top of the macchiatos
Is the Gingerbread Latte/Frappuccino gluten free?
I just called Starbucks and they said there is no gluten in the vanilla bean powder so I would assume the vanilla bean frap is safe??
NO I work at Starbucks and Vanilla bean definitely contains gluten! I’m celiac myself so ive come to know what to drink. NON of the pitchers are properly cleaned in between drinks so if you do have celiac or wheat Allergie I would avoid all Frapps!
I called corporate last year and there was no gluten listed in the vanilla bean ingredients. Do you have a current list of what it contains?
what about pumpkin spice latte
While coffee doesn’t normally have gluten in it, it has the same effect on your stomach that gluten does! No one with gluten sensitivities or celiac should drink any coffee. Its misleading, but true. Be careful
more info here. celiac should avoid coffee, really.
Your interactive links send people to Kelly Blue Book and other non-related sites. Quite annoying for those of us looking for real information. But understood that your blog master is getting a two for one deal on the links. They charge you for the blog and charge the other company for the back link. Be aware, Google doesn’t like this crap when it finds it.
I can’t lie, I have Starbucks ATLEAST once a week. And I love some of their 6 new frap flavors but do any have wheat in them? I’m 12 and I have a wheat allergy and get severely sick 🙁
Unfortunately I would stay away from the Frapps/: I have celiac and work at starbucks and we use the same pitchers for everything including wheat and are not properly washed in between drinks. You will most likely be cross contaminated. Vanilla bean is most used in the pitchers and it contains wheat. To me it’s not worth getting sick /:
I just started working there & I read the bag for vanilla bean, there’s no gluten in it. Only Java chips have wheat. Sugar free Vanilla syrup has maltodextrin or something so that’s the only thing that raised a flag but i don’t know what its derived from. Waffle Cone syrup has barely in it though. & not sure what ingredients are in the flourless chocolate cookies.
There is really good information,here but so many ads, it took 5 minutes to scroll to the bottom of this page. Maybe I will try back later (lose some ads?)
Which items are soy free? How about sugar/artificial sweetener free? It’s great to know what is gluten free. Thank you for the great information. I’d like more, please!
Does anyone know if the new Toasted Graham Latte contains gluten?
Yes, it has graham cracker in it.
The topping for the new graham latte definitely has graham cracker in it, but does anyone know about the syrup itself?
Could the drink be gluten free without the topping?
Um yeah….eat anything at Syarbucks at your own risk if your Celiac! Basically if it not just fruit your running a risk!
Do you know if Starbucks recently changed their Caramel Frapp recipe? I drank these for years without a problem. About two months ago I started getting hives. Don’t know if it’s contamination or a change in products. Guess better safe than sorry an avoid any Frappacinno.
I believe it’s the caramel not the Frappuccino. I belive it’s the Canadian or European allergy list that states the caramel contains gluten.
Just had a Starbucks Strawberry Yogurt Parfait, then noticed that they’ve added barley malt syrup. Not looking forward to the aftereffects
Anyone know about the Starbucks Double Shot flavors? Are they Gluten Free?
Double shot flavors can be anything. Though there is an added charge for syrups. We offer all the syrup choices in any drink. Most of the syrups are gluten free but it’s always good to ask your barista for help with gf menu choices
THANKS for the list/ info. I called Starbucks and they basically said anything at the stores are sudject to cross contamination but if I buy the whole beans in a bag and grind them at home myself, I should be fine. I think this may be the safest way to go to still have my morning starbucks coffee. has anyone had a reaction to justbthe grind your own beans at home?
Are French vanilla cappuccino gluten free?!
i read it somewhere on the internet that vanilla at starbucks cintains gluten. better avoid. i loved vanilla cream frappe but got sick afterward. so i change to caramel cream frappe which was advised gluten free at my own risk if cross contamination 🙁
Both the strawberry and blueberry parfaits now contain barley malt. Please update your list before more innocent people are glutened.
i assume this blogger is only on a gluten free diet, but not diagnosed with any health issue so he cant feel anything wrong from the drink.
caramel cream frapuccino is gluten free from i checked with starbucks here in thailand. i was ok in bangkok, hong kong and xi’an, but i got sick at kuala lumpur airport. so cross contamination is always possible at our own risk 🙁
Tһe company historyy explains tɦe bbackground οf youг coompany and thee peopole involved іn managing andd operating үoսr business.
Take the time to rᥱad some of tɦe usеr reviews and customers feedback availabgle online.
Combinee ѕeveral ideeas intо onee packae аnd offewr а discount fоr hiring yоu ffor multiple services.
Hi there. I was just diagnosed gluten intolerant and used your drink list to order a vanilla frappecino. When ordering I asked if it was gluten free. They said that they cannot guarantee anything in the store to be gluten free as there are other foods and drinks that have gluten being made at the same time. They told me not to risk it. Or anything. Starbucks in Edmonton Alberta millwoods town center. 2 people told me the same thing.
Oh for heaven sake. Nothing at Starbucks is gluten free! I’m a barista with celiac disease and talked to the company myself. They warn people not to drink or eat anything from behind the bar. Unless you are doing gluten free as some fad diet please stop telling people that’s it’s safe.
I just had the cinnamon dolce latte, and an hour later I had a reaction to what must have been gluten. BEWARE!!! Very unpleasant! I won’t do that again.