Are you curious if Rolo chocolate candies are gluten-free?
In this article, we’ll tackle that question head-on as well as take a closer look at the ingredients typically used in Rolo and determine whether those following a gluten-free diet can indulge in these delicious caramel chocolate sweets worry-free.
So, are Rolo gluten free?
Yes, Rolo are gluten free as they do not contain wheat, barley, oats, rye or any added gluten ingredients, according to Hershey.
You’ll even see a “gluten free” label on it’s packaging which gives you so more assurance that the Rolos are safe to consume.
One thing to note is that Rolo Minis are not gluten free because their label state that they may contain wheat.
What are Rolo?
Rolo are bite sized chocolate candies with a smooth caramel center wrapped in classic gold foil.
Rolo were first made in 1937 by a British confectioner named John Mackintosh. The Hersey Company makes Rolo candy in the United State and is manufactured under a license from Nestle.
They are available in both rich chocolate and a dark chocolate with salted caramel filling.
Here’s what Rolo candies are made from:
- Milk Chocolate
- Corn Syrup
- Skim Milk
- Palm Oil
- Whey Protein Concentrate
- Natural and Artificial Flavors
- Soy Lecithin
Here are some other gluten free chocolates and candies that are similar to Rolo:
Hopefully this answered your question to whether or not Rolos are gluten free. Thanks for reading!