Wasabi IS gluten free.
However this only applies to real, traditionally made wasabi made with the Japanese wasabi plant.
Wasabi found in the U.S. is generally made with horseradish, mustard and corn starch. But beware, the corn starch can sometimes be switched with wheat flour.
So always check the labels or ask the restaurant before you dine.
Hopefully this helps!