Chickpeas pack a powerful punch when it comes to flavor, nutrition, and versatility in the kitchen. But for those with gluten sensitivities or following a gluten-free diet, it’s essential to know if chickpeas are a safe choice.
Answer: Are chickpeas gluten free?
Yes, chickpeas are naturally gluten free.
Chickpeas are also the main ingredient of hummus which is generally gluten free if it’s made traditionally. As of right now, the safest brand of gluten free hummus is by Sabra.
Chickpeas, which also go by the name garbanzo beans, garbanzo, Bengal gram, Egyptian pea, cici beans, chi chi beans, and ce ce beans are are a great source of carbohydrates.They are also nutrient-dense legumes that are high in fiber and protein.
Is chickpea flour gluten free?
Yes, chickpea flour, also known as gram flour, is gluten free since it’s made from ground chickpeas that are naturally gluten free.